Sometimes, in planning events, things happen that are totally out of your control.

Sometimes, you don’t get enough participants to take part in your event.
Sometimes you don’t have enough funding.
Sometimes, there are things that are constantly getting thrown your way, and you have to think–Is it the right time to have this event? Should I go through with this event even if I don’t feel 100% confident in what I’m doing?

In event planning, in life, you have to make smart decisions.

Today, May 5th, would have been the Battle of the Streets event on campus.
The thing is, we’re postponing our event until next fall semester.

Why, you may ask?

Well, my team and I had to be responsible and decide whether we felt that this event was at the level we wanted it to be. We didn’t feel that this event was at its full potential. We also felt that we were competing with Cinco de Mayo, and weren’t sure that we would get a big enough attendance for our dance participants.

Above all else, we had to be fiscally responsible.

As much as I was devastated at that thought of canceling/postponing my first event, I personally had to come to terms with the fact that–hey, there’s a right time and place for everything, and it just wasn’t the right time and place for this event.

